BOARD OF EDUCATION

photo of Dane Cuny, board President

Dane Cuny
President
Term Ends: April 2023
dcuny@saltcreek48.org

photo of James Van De Velde, board Vice President

James Van De Velde
Vice President
Term Ends: April 2021
jvandevelde@saltcreek48.org

photo of Stacy Rattana, Secretary

Stacy Rattana
Secretary
Term Ends: April 2021
srattana@saltcreek48.org

photo of James Blair, Board Member

James Blair
Board Member
Term Ends: April 2023
jblair@saltcreek48.org

photo of John Downer, Board Member

John Downer
Board Member
Term Ends: April 2021
jdowner@saltcreek48.org

photo of Ray Kielminski, Board Member

Ray Kielminski
Board Member
Term Ends: April 2021
rkielminski@saltcreek48.org

photo of Souphone Paul Rattana, Board Member

Souphone Paul Rattana
Board Member
Term Ends: April 2023
prattana@saltcreek48.org

Regular school board meetings are held on the third Wednesday of the month unless otherwise noted. They are held in the Albright Middle School library (first floor) at 7:00 P.M. at 1110 S. Villa Avenue in Villa Park. Please see district downloads for agendas, minutes, and other important documents. In addition, every year we hold one board meeting in each of our other two schools, Stella May Swartz and Salt Creek Elementary. Please consult the Board Agendas to verify the location of a specific Board Meeting.

FUNCTION OF THE BOARD OF EDUCATION

The main function of the Board of Education is to adopt goals and policies that meet state requirements and reflect community needs. The Board carries out this function by:

  • Hiring and evaluating the Superintendent of Schools.

  • Authorizing employment of staff members and setting salaries.

  • Setting educational standards and goals and monitoring district performance.

  • Authorizing curriculum development and revision.

  • Adopting and monitoring a budget sufficient to carry out district goals.

  • Establishing districtwide policies.